Why does the message "Time jump noticed - switched to permanent slave mode" appear?
A time jump greater than 5 seconds has been detected on the time master. The time master then transmits no further time-of-day messages and automatically switches to time slave mode. All the connected time slaves then continue to work with the last valid time. The time master is permanently set to slave mode. In order to restore this slave to time master mode, the user needs to go to "Time Synchronization" in the WinCC Explorer, where the computer needs to be declared as the time master again, and the OS has to be deactivated and then reactivated.
This message only occurs in PCS 7 V6.1 or higher.
You can find important information about time synchronization in the following manuals:
- PCS 7 V6.1 Operator Station - Entry ID 21406982
Note on chapter 11.1.7: The process controlling message is not generated by the SICLOCK, this is done by the OS.
- Safety Concept for the PCS 7, Recommendations and Notes - Entry ID 22229786