4/7/2025 3:19 PM | |
Joined: 3/25/2015 Last visit: 4/14/2025 Posts: 115 Rating:
|
Hello, I have a bunch of optional IO-Devices configured in my project. I'm using ReconfigIOSystem to enable the required ones. My question is: is it possible to enable IO-Devices based on their connection status? I mean, can I detect when an optional io-devices is physically connected to the bus, so I can launch ReconfigIOSystem or D_ACT_DP for that device? Thank you |
Kind regards |
|
4/7/2025 3:44 PM | |
Joined: 7/7/2010 Last visit: 4/15/2025 Posts: 15808 Rating:
|
I would recommend something I did with a recent "reconfigiosystem" project... Installed a connector for powering up each remote IO device. In that connector, include whatever safety signals as required to satisfy your system's safety requirements (after performing risk assessment). Also, include a single signal from a digital output or watchdog signal that starts toggling as soon as the connector powers up the IO system. When that same IO system is not in use, I insert a "dummy" connector that jumps 24V to the same digital signal, and jumpers across the safety in/out channels. When the dummy OR the actual remote IO device is not connected, safety system is faulted and system cannot run. Then in the PLC, when you see the toggling of a remote IO system, you can either on request or on auto-reconnect, start the reconfig IO system. I recommend waiting a fair length of time for the connector screws to be fully screwed in and perhaps even force a user button press to indicate they really mean for the IO to be there. Otherwise, your auto-reconfigIOsystem can get confused when multiple remote IO systems suddenly get connected at around the same time. The logic to handle that can quickly get complicated if not handled flawlessly. It gets very strange when the reconfiguration is happening, and someone unplugs the remote system. You have to have a very smart state machine to handle reconfigurations and especially detecting every potential way to abort them that can happen in a real-world system with unpredictable people and priorities.
|
science guy |
|
This contribution was helpful to
1 thankful Users |
4/8/2025 7:57 AM | |
Joined: 3/25/2015 Last visit: 4/14/2025 Posts: 115 Rating:
|
Is there a way to detect LAN port status on a device? For example if I connect some IO-Devices to a managed switch or directly to the cpu ports, can port status be detected? |
Kind regards |
|
4/8/2025 1:18 PM | |
Joined: 7/7/2010 Last visit: 4/15/2025 Posts: 15808 Rating:
|
If you enable the diagnostics checkbox for each profinet port, then you can detect an "outgoing" event in the diagnostics error interrupt OB of the correct hardware address (HW_ID). It will take a few minutes to properly configure it. There are examples both in Siemens sample applications as well as in these forums on how to accomplish this. Plus, the OB80 documentation is sufficient to help identify outgoing events, and compare hardware address/ID in the project (using system constants) and the OB80 interface parameters.
|
science guy |
|
4/8/2025 2:52 PM | |
Joined: 3/25/2015 Last visit: 4/14/2025 Posts: 115 Rating:
|
I was trying to use RDREC to read 802A Record accordingly to a 2009 FAQ, but the structure of the data record is not correct or is different from that. I'm using a LPNDR library block from Siemens, polling every second the Local interface of CPU, so I'm getting the status of the port, and I'm launching ReconfigIOSystem based on active ports. The block is very large, and it's reading W#16#F481 profinet record. Is there a documented list of profinet data records? It seems that there is no information about these records and their structure. |
Kind regards |
|
4/8/2025 7:58 PM | |
Joined: 7/7/2010 Last visit: 4/15/2025 Posts: 15808 Rating:
|
Members of the Profinet International "Alliance" or guests can purchase or download details from the PI organizations web site. They offer order form and content list in PDF. This Siemens forums topic _may_ help: which references this forum topic where a discussion of how to actually apply one of those record values - to obtain the running PLCs current IP address (using PLC logic). This PN document may help as well: https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/de/en/view/19289930 pp.26-34 (and also references other sources for obtaining additional information) Search this support site and the general internet for some of the more obscure PN record IDs to possibly locate even more. Please post back any non-copyright protected (paywalled) links, or suggestions to sites where additional material _could_ be found and appropriate search term(s) to reach it. There's a lot of copyright protected material inadvertently posted online and I will not post links to it - mostly because it would be wrong and probably violates this support site's terms of use.
|
Last edited by: Moderator_Lan at: 04/09/2025 07:56:46link optimized science guy |
|
4/10/2025 1:44 PM | |
Joined: 3/25/2015 Last visit: 4/14/2025 Posts: 115 Rating:
|
I have already found that PN Document, but there isn't a specification of each record structure. I've also noticed that to download PN specifications from www.profibus.com my company must be member of the PI Community, and it's not. I don't understand why Siemens doesn't release a document with all the records, because they're used inside their library blocks. How am I supposed to use RDREC if there's no easy way to know how a record is composed?
|
Kind regards |
|
We are working on a new user interface with better overview and more relevance.
Follow us on