9/28/2021 5:21 PM | |
Joined: 9/27/2006 Last visit: 11/14/2024 Posts: 12294 Rating: (2691) |
Hello oluwasedago; The setup of a DP/DP coupler is all a question of hardware configuration, so there is nothing special about using it with TIA Portal. But there are a few things you must ensure if you want to make this work: - What are the special features of input/output addressing with the DP/DP coupler? https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/ww/en/view/22327981 First, the DP/DP coupler is designed as a 2-sided slave allowing I/O exchanges between 2 Profibus-DP masters. (it has 2 different Profibus interfaces, one connected to each master's Profbus network). Is the module you are using for the Beckhoff PLC a Profibus-DP master? Second, a DP/DP coupler exchanges data from input and output addresses, not from DB memory. You must copy the DB registers that you want to send to the Beckhoff PLC to the outout (%Q) addresses of the Siemens PLC (from the DB) and write the input (%I) addreses received from the Beckhoff PLC to the DB regsters of the Siemens PLC in your user program. Third, the I/O of the DP/DP coupler configuration in the Siemens PLC must match, line per line, the Beckhoff configuration , in size and datatype, except that input and output data must be reversed, See the screenshot below, showind an example configuration in 2 masters. Whatever is input to the Siemens PLC becomes output to the Beckhoff PLC, whatever is output from the Siemens CPU becomes input to the Beckhoff master. Lastly: Siemens makes a distinction on Profibus data that is consisent over unit, and consistent over total. Consistent over total is the equialent of a telegram, the data, no matter how many bytes long, is transfered all together. I do not recommend this for the Beckhoff CPU, simply confgure the DP/DP coupler data as consistent over unit (or without consustency) and transfer the I/Os to the Beckhoff registers as you need them. Hope this helps, Daniel Chartier |
Last edited by: dchartier at: 09/28/2021 17:26:00 |
|
9/28/2021 6:19 PM | |
Joined: 3/30/2015 Last visit: 3/7/2024 Posts: 70 Rating: (1) |
Hello dchartier, Thank you very much for this explanation. You have cleared a lot of doubts from my mind and I understand better now. I decided to test my program on the S71500 with a S7300 using same config and if everything works fine, I can move over to configuring the Beckhoff. So, now I am working with the S71500 TIA V16 connected to a S7300 Step 7 V5.6. I have been able to configure the system as it should be and there is NO SF error with respect to the Hardware config. In fact, I can send bits of data from one PLC to the other. However, I do not know how to move these data from DP coupler input or output to the DB. Could you please give me an instruction to use? I tried the DPWR_DAT and DPRD_DAT over the consistent areas, and no data transmission even when there is no error on the S71500 side but error exists on the S7300 side. Do you suggest that I should not use the Input and Output consistent types in the hardware config when connecting to the Beckhoff? I did not understand this part. I used DP input and outputs as bytes, how can I map DB to these areas or vice versa? Thank you very much
Attachmentsupport.zip (885 Downloads) |
9/29/2021 10:54 AM | |
Joined: 3/30/2015 Last visit: 3/7/2024 Posts: 70 Rating: (1) |
Good morning dchartier and thank you very much for this explanation. If i understand your explanation, I should use IBx and QBx to address inputs and outputs respectively since i have used Bytes, if I had used Word, then it would be IWx or QWx...? Also, your explanation talks about the data which were not consistent, how can I address the consistent ones? The goal for me is to move each single data from every part of the PLC to a single DB and then move the DB as a whole to the DP coupler for the other PLC to access it. You should have a better idea when you look at my DB structure perhaps. I will proceed now as you have advised and inform you of nay progress later. Could you show me how to program the BLK_MOV and does it work for the consistent part? I can also do away with the consistent bytes if it makes everything easier. Thank you once again. I have attached the structure.
Attachmentsetup.zip (870 Downloads) |
Follow us on